top of page
  • Writer's pictureTyron S. James

BIBLE STUDY on Matthew 6: 33-34 (Cont'd) by Tyron S. James

Updated: Sep 23, 2023

Matthew 6: 33-34 states "But seek first the reign of Elohim, and His righteousness, and all these shall be added to you. 34 Do not then worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow shall have its own worries. Each day has enough evil of itself".


Okay, so I identified that in order to seek first the reign of Elohim we must ask for it. The Reign or Kingdom of Elohim, as the scriptures explain, is a literal kingdom of houses, land, palaces etc. something we are able to see as John 3: 3 says. We are commanded to seek first this kingdom. We cannot waste time on other things like earthly riches or pleasures, or food or anything that distracts us from it.


How do we seek the reign of Elohim? Yahshua makes it plain we do not the way we seek other things but by denying ourselves and learning to please Father YHWH instead of ourselves. We cannot allow our flesh to control us because if we do we would be led into the path of adultery, fornication, stealing, lying and so on which is the opposite of seeking the reign of Elohim.


Yahshua's reign is already here in the lives of those who have surrendered to Him. He is the King or Sovereign of the Kingdom and is therefore ruling in the lives of those who have surrendered to Him. He is moulding and shaping us into His image and likeness through his Ruach ha Quodesh (Hebrew for Holy Spirit). His Spirit leads us and guides us by causing us to will and to do of His good pleasure. We hear His voice comforting us and instructing us in righteousness.


Therefore as Yahshua says "My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me. And I give unto them eternal life, and they shall never perish, neither shall any man pluck them out of my hands. The Father which gave them me is greater than all and no man is able to pluck them out of my Father's hands. I and the Father are one", John 10: 27-30, KJV.


When we seek Elohim's reign we have to suffer with Him first and afterwards we will reign with Him. But know that once you start to seek Him you will have to suffer. Suffering comes in the form of trials and tribulations, persecutions and temptations. We suffer persection many times in our homes among our families and kinfolk. This is sometimes the hardest persecution to take because it is coming from the very people that are suppose to love us more than any others. We also suffer persecution from sinners in society. We may get it on the job, in school, in the community or from our neighbours. Wherever it ccomes from we have to remember what the word says in 1 Corinthians 10: 13; "No trial has ever taken you exxcept such as is common to man, and Elohim is trustworthy, who shall not allow you to be tried beyond what you are able, but with the trial shall also make the way of escape, enabling you to bear it".


If at any time you feel you are going beyond your threshold to endure any trial cry out to YHWH as I did when I was going through a very torrid time. He said to me "Go get your bible and turn to 1 Peter 4: 6-7. When I did I read this, 6 "Humble yourselves then under the mighty hand of Elohim so that He exalts you in due time. 7 casting all your care upon Him, for He is concerned about you". Just reading this word lifted my spirit and I started to cast all/everything that was troubling me onto Him. In a matter of minutes I felt so free, my mind was clear and I was at peace again. That was a miraculous deliverance I experienced less than a year ago. Praise YHWH!


When we are seeking Elohim's reign we are given all the other things like food, clothing, shelter and some of us even get the other riches of this world. But we are not to set our hearts on it. When we are seeking Elohim's reign we are keeping His commandments and doing what is pleasing in His sight. YHWH's laws, the Royal Law and the Law of Liberty, however you may look at it all follow the principle of love. To YHWH first and to our neighbour after.


Bless YHWH ELOHIM forever! Matthew 6: 33-34 has even more insights for us to glean. But that must be all for now. May YHWH ELOHIM bless you and make you a blessing!

Here's a little something to make your day. Hope you enjoy it.





44 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page