top of page
  • Writer's pictureTyron S. James

BIBLE STUDY: Matthew 6: 33-34 by Tyron S. James

"But seek first the reign of Elohim, and His righteousness, and all these shall be added to you. 34 Do not, then, worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow shall have its own worries. Each day has enough evil of itself ".


Today I will be looking at verse 34 of the text. We are told that we ought not to worry about tomorrow when we are seeking YHWH's kingdom or reign. How can we tell this to someone who has lost all his belongings in a fire or some natural disaster. Or someone who has been in a tragic accident, car written off, body seriously hurt, perhaps irreparably. Or someone who has been told that they have contracted a deadly disease such as HIV AIDS or cancer.


These are heartbreaking situations which people, even some whom we may know, are facing right at this very moment. But if we put ourselves in these positions can we take the Holy Scriptures advice and not worry about tomorrow? I think that Father YHWH and Yahshua will come even closer to me if I was to find myself in those positions.


Even though I may not have lost my home in a fire I have found myself in a situation

where I was in danger of not having a place to rest my head at night. My response in those times were to turn to the Almighty in prayer. And seeking His guidance was what I did and He broke down barriers, moved people to action on my behalf, opened doors which were once shut, all because I displayed faith in Him (YHWH).


The Holy Scriptures talks about situations where individuals were put into positions where they would have been forgiven for giving in to the pressure. One situation was when the prophet Daniel was thrown into a den of lions by some unscrupulous men who wanted to destroy him. When the decision was made to feed Daniel to the lions he did not panic or worry about his future because he knew the Elohim whom he trusted in. Yahshua is encouraging all those who trust in Him to have faith in Him just as Daniel did.


The same Elohim who shut the mouths of the lions is for His people today healing of cancer, AIDS, mental illness, and all manner of diseases, casting out demons, raising the dead, feeding the hungry, putting a shelter over the heads of the homeless and strengthening the weak all for His glory.


The text we are currently looking at Matthew 6: 33-34 exhorts us not to worry about tomorrow ( what we shall eat, drink, or what we shall put on for after these things do the gentiles seek). I have never been put into a situation where I did not have food for more than day or two. Even when I was struggling the heavenly father and my mother would make sure that I had something to eat before any negative effects began to kick in.


There were times when I had a pair of jeans and a shirt and maybe two jerseys. But I have never been reduced to nothing. I know of someone who had been reduced to just the clothes on their back but YHWH in His mercy restored such a one. I have been fortunate to have more than enough food and clothing but also know the indignity of having little and even though I had little I trusted my Elohim to restore my storehouse and He did eventually.


I guess that's why the scripture says that if riches increase don't set your heart on it. We must be content in whatsoever state we find ourselves. And that means do not worry about tomorrow.


Whatever situation we may encounter in life be it a loss of a job, loss of the breadwinner in the family, a debilitating disease or illness, a downturn in the economy, Covid-19, a destructive natural disaster, loss of friends, relatives, bank accounts, whatever, Yahshua is able to keep us alive in famine, despair, great tribulations, it does not matter He is all we need for life and righteousness.


So praise YHWH and Yahshua all the days of our lives. And may He richly bless you and make you a blessing!

Here's a little something to lift up your day. Hope you enjoy it!

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page